Applications for small-scale DAB round two published

Ofcom has published the applications received to operate small-scale radio multiplexes in North West England and North East Wales.

A total of 30 applications were received for 18 of the areas advertised in Round Two.

No applications were received for: Chester & Ellesmere Port; Clitheroe; Rhyl, Ruthin & Mold; and Wirral.

Our list of applications will be updated shortly, meanwhile you can see the full list here.


Blackburn, Burnley and Darwen


Bolton and Bury

Buxton and Glossop

Cheshire (east)

Cheshire (mid)

Congleton & Leek

Crewe, Nantwich & Whitchurch



Oldham & Rochdale


Stoke & Newcastle-under-Lyme

Warrington, Widnes & Runcorn


Ofcom has also updated its plan for future rounds.

Advertisements for multiplex licences in London and South East England, originally planned for Round Four, are now likely to be published at a later date. This is because of delays in obtaining international spectrum coordination agreements in this part of the UK.

The pressure on available spectrum in that part of the UK means Ofcom will also need to expand the size of the South East England ‘macro area’ to include some additional locations which were previously outside it.

Ofcom says: “We plan to announce the licence areas to be advertised in Round Four at the same time we publish the Round Three licence advertisements in late 2021 or early 2022.

“For the reasons outlined above, Round Four is unlikely to include any areas in the South East England macro area but instead will include areas from across other parts of the UK.”

This story first appeared on